# DON'T MISS OUT ON A NEW FRIENDSHIP

#### Kaixo! Kaixo!

## 

### 2024-2025 ACADEMIC YEAR

The Basque language or Euskera is, along with Spanish, the language spoken in Navarra and is commonly used in many of its localities. It is also the official language in part of the region. Basque has more than one million speakers, of whom around 135,000 live in Navarra. One out of three young people can speak Basque.

Basque is **used in all social spheres in Navarra**: in education, in the media, in the Administration, in sport... and it is, without a doubt, an essential element of its culture.

Speaking Basque is also an added value for employability and a means to integrate **socially** for people who have come to Navarra from other regions.

In Navarra, there are **Basque language teaching centres or "euskaltegiak"** in all the counties and, every year, more than five thousand adults enrol in these centres, successfully learning the Basque language. To view the Basque language teaching centres by locality:

https://www.euskarabidea.es/castellano/euskaltegis-de-navarra

The government of Navarra promotes learning of Basque among adults and offers financial aid. The town councils of many towns in Navarra also provide grants for learning Basque. To find out how to apply for grants from the Government of Navarra and from local councils and municipal associations:

https://www.euskarabidea.es/castellano/ayudas-y-becas

Udalak / Ayuntamientos: Ansoáin / Antsoain, Aoiz / Agoitz, Aranguren, Auritz / Burguete, Barañáin / Barañain, Basaburua, Berrioplano / Berriobeiti, Berriozar, Burlada / Burlata, Cendea de Galar / Galar Zendea, Cendea de Olza / Oltza Zendea, Erroibar / Valle de Erro, Estella-Lizarra, Esteribar, Etxauri, Huarte / Uharte, Imotz, Lizoáin-Arriasgoiti / Lizoainibar-Arriasgoiti, Luzaide / Valcarlos, Noáin / Noain, Odieta, Orkoien, Pamplona / Iruña, Puente la Reina / Gares, Ultzama, Valle de Arce / Artzibar, Valle de Egüés / Eguesibar, Villava / Atarrabia, Zizur Mayor / Zizur Nagusia Mankomunitateak / Mancomunidades: Iranzu / Irantzu, Sakana, Valdizarbe / Izarbeibar Batzar Nagusiak / luntas Generales: Aezkoa, Roncal / Erronkari, Salazar / Zaraitzu

Gobierno Kafarroako de Navarra Gobernua













